holidays, life

Sometimes You Just Gotta Swing

No, this is not a swingers blog. This is about becoming a child again.

swing wm

Some of you may know that my brother brought his family to visit me on a holiday for the first time. His oldest son is eight and twin sons are five. You may wonder why you see me as a blur on the swing, and only my five-year-old nephew next to me. Well, the children, and in fact, the thrill of having them here, made me feel like a kid again. This was how I expressed my joy.

We had a lovely time. I relished in every minute of their visit. When they left it was bittersweet. I have beautiful memories. They may likely be the only memories of such a visit. But, one never knows. I’m open to more in the future. Most importantly, I hope my nephews will remember the visit for the rest of their lives.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to write more about the visit soon. May this blog post find all who read it blessed with the joy I felt on the swing. If not, try getting on a swing and free yourself in the breeze.

P.S. Thank you to my Mom for putting this together for all of us. We love you.

21 thoughts on “Sometimes You Just Gotta Swing”

    1. Thanks for coming over today and reading, Kathy. They’ll be photos of our family adventures up tomorrow. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend. Stay snug & warm.

      Like

  1. I’m SO happy to hear that your visit with family was such a wonderful time! I’ll bet your nephews thing you’re the “cool” aunt and will always remember this and want to visit again.

    Funny… I swung on a swing just a few weeks back too. Forgot how much fun that is!

    Like

    1. I know, swinging is fun isn’t it? I went so high my stomach flipped when I went backward. Woo hoo. Thank you for your nice comment, Terri.

      Like

  2. Haha, love the first line. I know what you mean…children have a way of helping us resurface our inner kid.Try skipping, too. 😉

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!!

    Like

    1. Skipping is great. I wonder if my nephews would like hopscotch. It’s kind of a girl’s game. Thanks for stopping by, Lauren. Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving too.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Linda. I was worried about my dog, Max, around the kids. He’s not fond of children. But, once he got used to them, they had a blast together.

      Like

Comments are closed.