Food, recipes

Rolling Meatloaf

If you haven’t read my memoir anthology, you do not know about my fails in cooking as a newlywed. You might find it amusing about how little I knew.

When I got married, one of my gifts was a Betty Crocker cookbook. At the time, I was pleased to find an easy meatloaf recipe in there that helped me learn in the beginning. Since I haven’t shared a recipe in a while, I’m posting this tried and true meatloaf I still make on occasion.

Although the recipe has all the usual egg, bread crumbs, etc for the meat mixture, I’ll let you use your own recipe for that part.

2 pounds ground beef mixed with your own seasonings.
1 cup chopped broccoli florets
2 to 3 thin sliced pieces of ham
2 thin slices of provolone or Swiss cheese
salt
pepper

Once the meat is mixed with all its seasonings, flatten it out on some foil  to about 1/2 inch thick (I usually spray the foil with non-stick spray first).

Spread chopped broccoli across top of meat. Sprinkle broccoli with salt & pepper, to taste. Place slices of ham over broccoli. Roll flattened beef like a jelly roll over the top of broccoli and ham. Pinch ends closed and bake in 350 oven the way you would normally cook your meatloaf.

Five minutes before meatloaf is done, place cheese slices on top of the meat and let finish cooking.

A good way to get your meat and vegetables.

(To use any of these photos, please attribute them to Lori and this blog.)

14 thoughts on “Rolling Meatloaf”

  1. What a recipe! If I still regular ate meat at home, I would definitely try this, Lori! (And I just got rid of my Betty Crocker cookbook recently. What a godsend that book was!)

    Like

  2. Great recipe. What would we do without ground beef or mince as we call it is Aus. I’m always looking for ideas to hide veges in food, as like many men, the G.O. isn’t a fan. For me the broccoli would be fantastic, for him I might have to find an acceptable subsitute 🙂

    Like

    1. My guy doesn’t care for broccoli either, but the ham gives it some flavor. If worse comes to worse, he can always scrape off the broccoli. 😉 Thanks for stopping by EllaDee.

      Like

  3. Hey, having a Betty Crocker Cookbook handy is always a good thing. 😉 And, don’t we all have to first learn and grow in our daily household chore walks? 🙂

    Thanks for sharing the recipe, Lori! 😛

    Like

Comments are closed.