life, Pets

The Dog Wrangler

 

I recently hired a pet sitter/walker to walk our Max (Australian Shepherd) once a week. We walk him every day, but we like to take a break once in a while.

I interviewed Nanda, a small Brazilian woman, and the female dog whisperer. She not only talked the talk, but she walked the walk … literally. She became the alpha over my dog in an instant, which isn’t always easy.

One night, just before she stepped out to walk him, two large stray dogs raced by our house at top speed.

“Oh no,” I said, pissed off. “It’s that corner house again. One dog is some kind of a hound mix, the other a pit bull. Those people don’t walk their dogs, so they break out of jail and get the exercise they need on their own. Problem is, it’s dangerous for those of us who are responsible dog owners.”

Nanda moved into action. I witnessed this five foot woman step out into the middle of the street, put two fingers in her mouth and blast out a whistle. Those two dogs, which were almost as tall as her, turned around and headed right toward her. She stood her ground, pointed to their house and shouted, “GO HOME!”

I couldn’t believe my eyes. They dashed right past her. Nanda followed them to their house, and I followed her. She pointed to their fence and they ran inside.

Side note: These dogs frequently get loose. In a past incident, I saw the owners of the two dogs chasing them up and down the street trying to get them back home, but the dogs didn’t listen to them.

Now, you’d think Nanda settled the matter once she wrangled them to their yard, but no. The six-foot wood fence door wouldn’t latch shut. Holding the door with one hand, she knocked on the dog owner’s window with the other. The large lady inside, who obviously has only walked from her front door to the car door, let alone ever take a leash to her dogs, approached the window.

Nanda raised her voice to be heard. “Come out here and get your fence door closed. The dogs got loose.”

Through the pane, the lady said, “They got out?”

“YES! Come out and close your fence door.”

Sure enough, out clomped the lady, who moved something in front of the fence door to keep it shut. Wow! Nanda’s a people whisperer too!

For use of any photos from this post, please attribute Lori and this blog.

Check out her website at Nanda’s Walking Paws. Not only is it about her pet sitting services, but she has lots of info about dogs too.

25 thoughts on “The Dog Wrangler”

  1. OK, this is the greatest story, Lori. I like Nanda. What a whisperer! People AND dog. Can we rent her when we go on our walks in the woods? In case of a bear, maybe? P.S. Love how you told the story. Felt like we were right there with you.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Kathy. I didn’t ‘show’ this one as much as I usually like to do. This one is sort of a show AND tell kinda story. I’ll let Nanda know to look you up if she’s in the UP for one of your walks in the woods. πŸ˜‰

      Like

    1. Hey Robin, the picture on the bottom is of my next door neighbors dogs. They broke that slat in our joining fence and stuck their heads in. I just had to get a photo of them in such a position. My husband has since fixed that fence, with no help from the neighbor. Thanks for reading the story. Glad you liked it.

      Like

  2. Nanda – some woman … some people just has it in them – doesn’t matter if it’s dogs or humans they communicate with – you just listen and do what they say *smile – Brilliant post and I love the photo of the two dogs in the end – their faces are priceless.

    Like

  3. Great story. Poor dogs! We have a neighbor that just throws their dogs outside at oh say 6 in the morning on a weekend day … and let’s them bark and bark and bark. They don’t want to hear their dogs barking, but it’s okay for the rest of the neighborhood to hear it. Grrr.

    Like

  4. Love it! Maybe she can come wrangle my son when he takes off running on me. πŸ™‚

    When I was growing up, our neighbors several llamas used to get out periodically and we had to do llama catching. Best part was that they lived just across the road from the local golf course – and we often had to do llama wrangling amidst golfers and golf balls. We also had llamas (only 2) and people somehow always thought the the loose ones were ours – we politely told them they weren’t ours (we could see ours out in the pasture) but that we would go round them up. We had the same thing happen with goats belonging to another neighbor once – no, our goats are in the pasture where they belong but we will round up the ones on the golf course and send them home. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Funny Shannon … goats and llamas. I’d faint if I saw one of those loose in my neighborhood. I live in a deed restricted community/subdivision. Lots of those here in FL. It can be good and bad. However, these neighbors I wrote about here are super irresponsible. Thanks for sharing your story. I love hearing about your many experiences with animals. If Nanda is ever up in the NW, I’ll send her your way. Thanks so much for reading.

      Like

    1. She was really something. I wished I could’ve done that long ago with those dogs. I may try if they get loose again, but I can’t whistle. πŸ˜› Thanks for reading it, Mags. Glad you liked it.

      Like

  5. First, Lori… wishing you the best for your writing! I know how hard that can be: you want to blog but you also need to sit down and do some “real” writing. I hope and pray you’ll find the right balance – a schedule that suits you well.

    Now, as for the story… Wow! Thanks for sharing! I like stories about Max πŸ˜› but also about dog trainers and whisperes πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Mirjam, so good to hear from you. You are so right about needing to get to some “real writing.” Thanks for your good thoughts and prayers. Glad you liked the story about Nanda. It was something to watch. Blessings to you.

      Like

Comments are closed.