life, music

Rebellious No More

music02_1 fdpBack in the day (you know, in the early 80’s), my high school/college friends and I thought we were youthful rebels with our rock music.

I’ve always been someone who couldn’t pretend that I liked something if I didn’t, and I didn’t just like rock music, I loved it. I used to say, “I don’t care how old I get, I’ll always be a rocker.” All the while thinking that rock was only for young people, and I planned to be rocking with a wrinkly ass at age eighty-five.

So, a couple weeks ago, I went to a rock concert with no wrinkly ass yet, but some other sagging parts that weren’t sagging in the 80’s. I thought I’d be the oldest among lots of young people. As I walked through the parking lot toward the stadium, I observed the other fans walking with me. What did I see? Lots of wrinkly skin and a fair amount of gray hair. Who were those people and where did all the youngsters go? I remembered this same thing happened when I went to see the Trans Siberian Orchestra just before Christmas, but thought it was just a fluke.

Then it dawned on me, rock music isn’t for rebellious kids anymore, it’s for fiber-infused, old people … and I’m one of them!

I went to see this band because they play my favorite rock song of all time. I wrote about it on this blog post. I identify with the song’s lyrics, and the powerful rock music drives it home for me. Not to mention, I love their other music too.

Here are just a couple of photos of my old-lady’s-night out!

Kansas with a full orchestra behind them.

Kansas 1 wm
Carry On My Wayward Son
Dust in the Wind
Dust in the Wind

19 thoughts on “Rebellious No More”

  1. Well, we AND our music may be getting old, but I’ve got to tell you that I often hear my kids playing OUR music on their iPods and computers. There wasn’t much that my parents listened to that I would be caught dead listening to, (except my Mom’s Elvis albums.) So I think it says a lot that my 19 and 21 year olds are very familiar with Journey and AC/DC and .38 Special.

    I’m glad you got a chance to see Kansas and rock out with them again. You got some great photos!

    Like

    1. I know, I wouldn’t have been caught dead listening to my parents music either. I think our generation’s music had much more talent and power to it (we’ll pretend like disco never happened) than our parents generation. Thanks for sharing that your young adult kids listen to our music too, cause it IS awesome. 🙂

      Like

  2. I remember them from high school and college, too. One year they played in my home town, and Heart came in the next week or so. They’ve still got a few years to go before they catch up to the Stones 50th anniversary tour. 😉

    Like

    1. I knew the musicians themselves were getting older, but certainly not us fans! It was a great time. Thanks for reading and sharing your experience, JM.

      Like

  3. Hi there, my rock chick … don’t pick on the Trans Siberian Orchestra *smile .. I suppose for a real rocker like you .. they didn’t measure up. Went over to YouTube and listen to Dust in The Wind with Kansas .. not at all what I excepted – a very soft song .. really.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

    1. Hey, Viveka! I LOVE Tran Siberian. That’s why I went to see them at Christmas time. I saw older people there too.

      Yes, Dust in the Wind is a ballad done by Kansas. My favorite of all time is Carry on my Wayward Son. This one really rocks. I love harmonizing voices too.

      Like

    1. Hey, so glad to see a younger person lovin’ rock! Thanks for coming over, La. Still having trouble with the ‘like’ button. 😦

      Like

  4. It was cool when we saw Paul McCartney in concert . . . the audience age-span was from pre-teen to one foot in the grave. We were somewhere in the middle of that range.

    Like

    1. Don’t recall seeing any pre-teens at this one. Only the “somewhere in the middle” ages. Tran Siberian Orchestra had a mix of ages, but still leaned slightly toward the older crowd too. Thanks for checking out my night of rock.

      Like

  5. I always think it’s so sad to see my favourite old bands making their comebacks. They’re wrinkled and gray or losing their hair, and they change the original tunes because they can’t hit the high notes anymore. Then it hits me! This band was young when I was young… and I do the math….sigh….

    Like

    1. Yes, Kerry Livgren’s voice is no longer what it used to be, but their instrumental talent seemed even better! Oh, and the violinist was not the original.

      You know, I heard someone from those old bands interviewed about this once. I think it was Tommy Shaw (of my favorite band, STYX). He said that they come up with new singles/songs all the time, but radio stations won’t play them. So, they do tours and they pack the stadiums. Everything is different these days, even the music business, and everyone has to adjust. Sighing here too.

      Thanks for coming over and sharing in my night of rock.

      Like

    1. Certainly not the youth I was when I saw this band the first time. But, still grateful to be young enough to enjoy it and scream from my seat. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.