life, music, Spirituality

Carry on …

… my wayward son
There’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Don’t you cry no more.

Here are the lyrics to the song I referred to in my Wednesday post, my favorite of all time by the band Kansas. The spirituality of the lyrics and power in the music, has always moved me. Anyone else care to share their favorites of all time in a comment below?

eagle2 wm

Once I rose above the noise and confusion
Just to get a glimpse beyond this illusion
I was soaring ever higher, but I flew too high

Though my eyes could see I still was a blind man
Though my mind could think I still was a mad man
I hear the voices when I’m dreaming,
I can hear them say

Carry on my wayward son,
There’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Don’t you cry no more

Masquerading as a man with a reason
My charade is the event of the season
And if I claim to be a wise man, well,
it surely means that I don’t know (this is the quote in Wednesday’s post)

On the stormy sea of moving emotion
Tossed about, I’m like a ship on the ocean
I set a course for winds of fortune,
But I hear the voices say

Carry on my wayward son
There’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Don’t you cry no more

Carry on,
You will always remember
Carry on,
Nothing equals the splendor
Now your life’s no longer empty
Surely heaven waits for you

Carry on my wayward son
There’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Don’t you cry,
Don’t you cry no more

Kansas – Carry on my Wayward Son

16 thoughts on “Carry on …”

    1. Oh no, I hope your comment didn’t get lost somewhere in cyberspace! I checked my comment que and my spam. Didn’t see it anywhere. Hmm, well, I know I’m still singing the song in my head. 🙂 Thanks for reading it, Kathy.

      Like

    2. Hey Ms Kathy, I just thought of something, you did comment to my other post about this song. I just put in one quote from the song and not all the lyrics. Maybe you’re thinking of that one.

      Like

      1. I think I read both posts, but scurried on down to the other and left the comment for this one in my head. Happens sometimes these days. 🙂

        Like

  1. I love that song too. So does my son, Jake. He bought it on iTunes and we both added it to our iPods a few years ago.

    One of my favorites was the inspiration for my blog title and the video is on my About page – 10,000 Maniacs’ “These are Days.” …

    These are days, you’ll remember
    Never before and never since, I promise
    Will the whole world be warm as this and as you feel it

    You’ll know it’s true that you are blessed and lucky
    It’s true that you are touched by something
    That will grow and bloom in you

    These are days, you’ll remember
    When may is rushing over you with desire
    To be part of the miracles you see in every hour

    You’ll know it’s true that you are blessed and lucky
    It’s true that you are touched by something
    That will grow and bloom in you

    These are days

    These are the days you might fill with laughter until’ you break
    These days you might feel a shaft of light make it’s way across your face
    When you do you’ll know how it was meant to be

    See the signs and know their meaning
    It’s true, you’ll know how it was meant to be
    Hear the signs and know they’re speaking to you, to you

    Like

  2. Wow! Kansas and Leonard Cohen! That’s quite a combo! Love both! I especially liked Jeff Buckley and K.D. Lang’s covers of Hallelujah. 😀
    I like all kinds of music so I don’t have a single favorite, but I love Andrew Peterson’s More

    This is not the end here at this grave
    This is just a hole that someone made
    Every hole was made to fill
    And every heart can feel it still–
    Our nature hates a vacuum

    This is not the hardest part of all
    This is just the seed that has to fall
    All our lives we till the ground
    Until we lay our sorrows down
    And watch the sky for rain

    There is more
    More than all this pain
    More than all the falling down
    And the getting up again
    There is more
    More than we can see
    From our tiny vantage point
    In this vast eternity
    There is more

    A thing resounds when it rings true
    Ringing all the bells inside of you
    Like a golden sky on a summer eve
    Your heart is tugging at your sleeve
    And you cannot say why
    There must be more

    There is more
    More than we can stand
    Standing in the glory
    Of a love that never ends
    There is more
    More than we can guess
    More and more, forever more
    And not a second less

    There is more than what the naked eye can see
    Clothing all our days with mystery
    Watching over everything
    Wilder than our wildest dreams
    Could ever dream to be
    There is more

    Like

    1. I listened to the link you shared and I’m so glad you did. What a beautifully, hopeful song. What a good song for someone to hear when grieving too. It may help, if even an inkling, to comfort. Thank you so much for sharing this Deb. I will probably pass it on to others too.

      Like

    1. I know it’s not much your taste, Viveka. I’m a big fan of rock music. I grew up in the big hair rock days. I had a perm (curly, big hair) and wore my bangs teased up high. Hee, hee. Disco sucks, rock rules! 😉

      Like

  3. I like that song 🙂 I’ve always loved Mr. Bojangles, I think it tells a great story… and of course, the lyrics to Hallelujah are great 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.