life

Why I’m a freak, reason #2

 

At one time I wanted a tattoo really bad, but I couldn’t make up my mind where and what type of art. Plus, the permanence put me off a bit. I mean, a tattoo is decorative, like earrings. Would I want to wear the same earrings for the rest of my life? I figured I’d get bored with the same art day after day. Yet, a tattoo could be the one rebellious thing I ever did in my life.

Nowadays, it seems like just about everyone has a tattoo. It’s not rebellious or different at all anymore. I’m thinking maybe the way to be different, is by NOT getting a tattoo.

This isn’t something new for me. I’ve always bucked the trends. Well, almost always. I did wear bell bottoms and platforms at one time (as but a mere child). However, I never did anything I didn’t want to do just because “everyone else was doing it.”

For example, I did love rock and roll and still do. At my first concert, as a teenager, someone shoved a joint in my face. This was new to me, and I shook my head, “No thanks.”

“Aww, come on, you’re gonna try it eventually. Why not get it over-with now?” the cute, brown-eyed boy coaxed.

“You know what, Bill? Just because you told me what I’m ‘gonna do,’ I’ll never touch the stuff.”

Now, I didn’t know if I ever would try it or not, but I absolutely hated when someone told me what to do. I still hate it today.

What’s wrong with people being different and being proud of their differences? I find that’s what makes life exciting … learning about our differences. Educate me about your culture, your traditions, your quirkiness. It’s fun!

As a teenager when I turned down the joint, the kids immediately branded me the “goody-goody.” You know what, I wasn’t ashamed of it … I was proud! It didn’t have to do with self-righteousness, but rather, I didn’t conform or bend to being like everyone else.  How could anyone say they are rebelling and expressing their individuality, when they’re doing what everyone else is doing? As far as I’m concerned, I’m the one who was the rebel! I didn’t lose my friends; they just teased me about it on occasion, but I liked it because people noticed me.

I didn’t mean to get on a soapbox. This all just occurred to me over the weekend as I waited at a restaurant for a table. Looking around at the others waiting with me, they all had tattoos, except for the children. However, I did see a four-year-old little girl in stiletto heels and skinny jeans. I’m not kidding either, I really witnessed the tragic sight.

Oh well, even if I wanted to break out of my goody-goody shell, turns out, a tattoo isn’t the way to go. How ’bout I dye my hair the color of these fonts?

Turns out, I don’t fit into today’s society for many reasons. Check out Why I’m a Freak, Reason #3.

7 thoughts on “Why I’m a freak, reason #2”

  1. Good words, here, Lori! I too rebelled by being good – those rebels who mindlessly follow the other rebels just look like sheep to me. Branded sheep, these days. Your comparison of a tattoo to wearing the same pair of earrings daily is excellent. (Like Planthoarder, I also followed you over from my favorite blog.)

    Like

    1. Good to meet a fellow “rebel.” It was kinda lonely out here alone. Thanks for hanging out with me. 😉 Thanks so much for coming over to read and comment.

      Like

  2. Had a similar situation happen with beer, someone insisted I drink it, I wouldn’t, he tried to balance it on my knee thinking I’d take it, but I let it fall. He caught it and thought I was nuts. I didn’t care what he thought; I believe in being self-defined, so unless you define yourself as “rebellious,” the thing with your mother-in-law doesn’t have to be that way. Go along when it’s something you want to do, and don’t when it isn’t. You don’t have to let her define you by just doing the opposite. Sorry about the unsolicited advice. The irony is I came to your post through a post about exactly that. So, you know, just a thought.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing your similar story. I appreciate the advice about my MIL. I do usually go along with the things I’m willing to do, and don’t do the things I’m not willing to do. Sometimes when my choice is not to do something, she gets really pushy. That’s when I’m a “freak” and do the opposite. However, the opposite thing is not really overly rebellious. My response is usually to remove myself from her presence altogether, until whatever she wanted me to do is over with and she can’t be pushy with me about it anymore. I think I know which blog you found me in, and I enjoyed reading that one. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow, so I’m not the only freak who didn’t succumb. 😉 It was in my forties that I wanted a tattoo, but have since changed my mind. I’m exiting that decade at the end of this year. 😛 Beautiful horse, btw. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment. I plan to put up a sample of my memoir writing next week.

    Like

  4. Wow, I could relate to that post as being the one who never succumbed to peer pressure either. But, I did get a tattoo when I was 49 and only because it was my artwork and defines me now and forever. (see my little horse avatar? that’s on my left shoulder…) I did get only one ear pierced because it was different 🙂 and because my daughter had the matching one – she has more than enough for both of us… Thanks for sharing your life through orchid-colored ink and I’ll be back.

    Like

Comments are closed.