life, writing

Surprises

I have two surprises to discuss today.

One has to do with writing, the other has to do with a giveaway. So, stick with me.

If you’re a writer, have you ever been writing a scene, and surprise, surprise, a character pops up that you never heard of before? This character suddenly makes a splash onto the scene, and you didn’t even know s/he existed before.

That happened to me as I’ve been writing my second novel. By the way, it’s really slow going. I’m disappointed, because I hoped this second one would go faster. Not only do I struggle with just getting through my first draft without stopping to edit, but life has been getting in the way as well. Not toΒ  mention, this is a very complicated plot.

But, I digress. Back to a sudden character.

I was writing for a character named Tobias Jones. He is pretty much of a cad and I didn’t think he could fall in love, until Gina came into the picture. You see, there were no plans for Gina, or any woman he could fall in love with. She just happened upon him one day. I don’t know where she came from, but she caught his attention like no one else. I really like how she handles Tobias, and so does he. I doubt he’ll ever settle down, even with Gina, but one can never tell. I didn’t even know she existed before, so who knows where she’ll lead me?

Now, onto my second surprise. Starting this Friday, May 26th, my short story memoir anthology, Home Avenue will be free for twenty-four hours. So, get it while it’s hot.

Oh, I guess there are three surprises, because my novel, Whit’s End will be on sale for .99 cents starting Friday the 26th and going through Memorial Day weekend. I’d love an even-two-dozen reviews on the novel, or even a baker’s dozen would be nice. So, check it out if you can.

I’ll be back on Friday to remind you about the book deals. Until then ….

32 thoughts on “Surprises”

  1. Lovely post, Lori! I always enjoy reading them ❀

    Just got the two books. Looking forward to reading them both. Thank you for the offer and BEST wishes for the sale.

    Got a little surprise for you, too.

    Blessings,
    Carmen (Mirjam πŸ˜‰ )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for getting those books, Carmen. I hope you enjoy them. I saw your profile/gravatar picture. Looks like you have Australian Shepherds? That’s what I have. They are the BEST! πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. Just read the first chapter of “Home Avenue” last night. Magnifico! πŸ™‚

        Close to Australian Shepherds πŸ˜‰ Rapsy (on the right) is a purebred sheepdog (Border Collie). Missy is a “Good Wexford Mix” (the vet told me) LOL. She definitely has Collie but also a bit of a Springer and Terrier in her line πŸ™‚

        Yes, Australian Shepherds and Sheepdog are the BEST! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ahh yes, Border Collies. Everyone thinks my Max is a Border, but I always tell them to check for the tail. If they don’t have one, they’re an Aussie. πŸ˜‰ So glad you’re enjoying Home Avenue.

          Like

    1. I know, I never had that happen to me before either. I always wondered how that happened. Suddenly, a character I didn’t even plan on popped up. Who knew? Thanks for the good wishes, Andrea.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL No unexpected character deaths here. Thanks so much for spreading the word of my sale. I need to contact you about your guest post. I’ll send you some dates. Email? PM?

      Like

    1. Thank you, DS (I hope you don’t mind the acronym). You might like the novel, too. It’s about family’s expectations built around children. Infertility is briefly touched on in the book, but I didn’t want to make the story about that. It’s really based on two women who need to look within instead of without for fulfillment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A new character popped into my WIP too recently, right near the end of the first draft. Then I had to go back and slip him in other places. Proof that even when you outline, you aren’t boxed in! I’ll be sure to spread the word on Friday about your sale. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you popped by, Carrie. I’ve been wanting to talk writing with you. I read your post about your novel, Eating Bull, and why food companies couldn’t be the only antagonist. What you did was make a larger antagonist with Darwin, and made the food companies as a sort-of background antagonist. You did a great job of it. Having said that, I kind-of ran into this problem with my WIP. Mine touches on social issues as a background idea, not the main idea. I don’t outline, because I found that I can’t come up with things to put in the outline further into the story. That usually comes to me as I write. But, this time, as I got through Chapter 6, I realized that my antagonist had no one to go up against. So, I read a book about outlining called “Take Your Pants Off.” When I used the author’s method of outlining, I still couldn’t come up with all the fill-in spots of the outline. BUT, I did fill-in some blank spots, and I came up with an antagonist for my antagonist. So now, the one who was supposed to be my main antagonist has turned into one of those ambiguous characters where you can’t tell if he has good or bad intentions. It really spruced it up. Not that you care, but it’s nice to discuss writing. πŸ˜› Thank you for your support.

      Like

      1. I do care! And I love that you created an ambiguous antagonist. That’s tough to do–I struggle to make a villain that’s also likable. It’s tricky to do, and I hope to master it some day.

        I’ll have to check out that book, “Take Your Pants Off.” What a great title!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmmm…perhaps, Lori, such a profound concept is inviting additional expressions of It to reveal themselves… It’s definitely an adventure, the writing of this story! πŸ˜‰ xoxoM

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anneli. This novel has a lot of characters, and I wrote a list of all of them and their traits. Gina was not on that list. She just popped up at a rally where Tobias was speaking, and I had no idea about her. It was strange. When she first started speaking, she was only going to be a passing character, but then when she started bantering with Tobias, I knew she would become more important. Never happened to me before. Thanks for reading and sharing your experience.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jacqui. I did a giveaway of my short story anthology for 5 days when my novel came out. I had 250 downloads and not one review. 😦 But, I also had my novel on sale at the same time and it brought people in and got me sales on the novel.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’d call that a win. Did you consider it successful? I’ve heard once you get 15 reviews, Amazon pushes your name out there more. I don’t know if it’s true, but it seemed to work for my first novel.

        Marketing is a lot harder than it sounds.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I did not hear that about Amazon. Sounds like it might be true if it happened with you. Thanks for that tip.

          To answer your question. I did consider the sales of my novel successful in opening debut (not since), but I wouldn’t put either book up for free for more than one day at a time again. Five days was way too long.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.