life, writing

My First Time

I’m writing on the fly, because I’m a busy beaver today. Just wanted to share something exciting.

I’m going to be in a local book fair this Sunday. I actually said I’m going to be in a book fair not at a book fair. It’ll be my first time. I’ve done plenty of online promotion, but I’ve not done any in public, you know, in person. Gotta tell ya, I’m a little nervous.

I’m not an introvert. I enjoy socializing . . . meeting and getting to know new people. However, I do not enjoy trying to sell my work. I even cringe having to do it online, let alone face to face. I actually land right smack dab in the middle of the introvert/extrovert scale. Which doesn’t surprise me, because I’m a tried-and-true Libra . . . we need balance.

Maybe the not-pushing-myself-on-people-thing, okay, the not-pushing-my-work-on-people-thing is the introvert side of me. I don’t know. But, from what I understand, this is a good size fair. Forty-four authors. What if no one comes to my table? Yikes.

Well, I’m off. Wish me luck, and I hope everyone has a pleasant, sunny, and blessed weekend.

Are you okay in social situations? How bout if you have to sell a product?

16 thoughts on “My First Time”

  1. Lori, I used to feel really uncomfortable selling my book and I’m a serious introvert. Like stay home alone all weekend and not speak to anyone and be happy introvert. If I could make a recommendation, check out Tim Grahl’s Your First 1000 Copies. He’s also got online tutorials that are free and paid (and worth every penny). He’s really helped me with my marketing and I’m hoping the next book launch will be my best. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kourtney. Thank you for sharing your experience and the good tip about marketing. Did it help you feel more comfortable? Appreciate your support. 🙂

      Like

  2. Good luck, sounds like an exciting opportunity! I had similar feelings when I did a poster presentation at a conference recently, wonder if no one comes to look at my poster? Truthfully, it started slowly but over time, I received plenty of good feedback.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck! To me, bookfairs are less intimidating than individual book signings. With all the authors there, some of the pressure is removed. But I usually bring someone with me if I can. Helps with the chatting and also allows me to take a small break if I need one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Carrie. Yes, someone will be with me. I’ve got several friends that are going to show up, too. Just in case no one mills around my table, I’ll have some plants (the human kind, not vegetation, heh). 😉 Thanks for the good luck wishes.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Best of luck to you, Lori. Just be yourself, enjoy meeting and chatting with people, and see what happens. You don’t have to be pushy, but being overly reticent won’t be helpful. (I know because I have the same trouble you have described.) Have fun and let us know how you do!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Now, what are you thinking?

