blogging, life

Award and Tips on Blogging

bloggeraward-psitsperi_img_7908I was nominated for the Blogger Recognition award by the talented romance author, Angela Christina Archer. Through blogging and reading her fine work, we have become good friends. If you like historical romance, you’ll love her books.

I haven’t joined in on the blogging awards in a while, and I likely won’t do this often. But, I wanted to thank Angela for her online friendship and for this award.

Here is what to do to accept the award:

1) Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

2) Write a post to show your award.

3) Give a brief story of how your blog started.

When I  finally became  serious about publishing my work, my writer’s critique group members told me I needed to have more of a presence in social media. I did not like the idea of starting a blog, but I did it anyway. Turned out, I absolutely love blogging and prefer this over any other source of social media. I’ve been doing it for five years now.

4) Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.

a) Giving the blog some sort of theme is helpful. Mine is about sharing common human experiences with others to show we are not alone. It has a philosophical tone with some inspirational and self-help thoughts. This also reflects what my writing is about, both my fiction and memoirs. So, I’d say go with your gut on a theme that feels right, and if you are an author, a touch of what might be in some of your work is nice. For example, for a fiction author, perhaps do a once a month 350 word short story in your specific genre.

b) It’s a good idea to interact with those who comment on your posts and reciprocate by visiting their blogs. You will make friends, and you’ll find you are in a community that is willing to help each other out. I feel blessed to have found such great friends here in the blogging world.

5) Select 5 bloggers for this award.

Not everyone joins in on awards. I don’t want to put any pressure on my friends, so I’m just going to name a few of their fantastic blogs. If they have time for the award or not, it’s fine with me. Anneli, has two wonderful blogs and is a talented romance author (with a touch of thriller). Her photos blow me away, and her words are warm and welcoming on Words from Anneli. Her writing tips are priceless on Anneli’s place. Jill’s debut romance novel is coming out this week, and she has positive messages to share. Check out her blog and debut novel.  Seyi has lovely philosophical messages that make me think. Lorna’s Voice always gives me a smile and a giggle. Andrea’s photos and lyrical words stir my soul at Harvesting Hecate.

9 thoughts on “Award and Tips on Blogging”

  1. I loved reading your thoughts on blogging Lori, I think many of us don’t realise what we’re getting into – and in the best possible way we get a lovely surprise! Thanks so much for mentioning me, I appreciate your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for the mention, Lori! You know I love your blog. You nailed the answered to question 4, part B. I’ve stopped following people who won’t respond to their comments. What’s the point in having a blog if you don’t interact…gesh! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anneli. Sure, I’d like to do a guest post. Just let me know when is a good time … and give me some time to come up with something. 😛 Thank you very much for the offer and opportunity.

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading. Now, what are you thinking?

