blogging, life

Like me if you mean it on this Anniversary

treetrail (624x800) wmCan you imagine scrolling and scrolling through the Reader of WordPress and just clicking ‘like’ on everything without reading it?

A couple of years ago, I posted a quippy little poem about the ‘like’ button. Because, after I had been blogging for one year, WordPress changed the way blogs work (they’re always fixing things that aren’t broken). No one had to go to a blog to like it anymore, they could just do it from the Reader. Subsequently, clicks on blogs were no longer necessary.

I’ve got what seems like a lot of followers at 1,100, but due to the WordPress set-up, people can also follow without ever coming over to check out my blog. My stats have gone down every year since. So much so, that this year I’ve received half the amount of clicks than I received that first year. Needless to say, I’m not looking forward to those end-of-year stats.

What I don’t understand, is how people put their name/brand/gravatar on something they have no idea of what it says. What if it was something very offensive, or something that goes against their core values? Oh wait, maybe people don’t have those types of values anymore. They must also not follow the golden rule … read others as you would want them to read you.

But, I digress.

windy-road wmSo, tomorrow is the four-year anniversary of when I started blogging here on Lori’s Lane. I want to thank those of you who have stuck with me. I’m so blessed to know you through these blogs. It’s my dream to meet my blogging friends in person someday. I hope you’ll continue with me in 2016. Considering the state of the world, I fear what is to come and hope we can continue our conversations in this wonderful community.

I also want to thank those of you who aren’t WordPress bloggers and come over here to read me. I’m grateful that you think my words are worth your time and attention. Thank you to my in-person friends and family who read as well.

I wish I could name every one of you and describe each of your wonderful attributes. For now, as an anniversary celebration, I’m going to name the top six commenters and recommend others follow them as I do.

Carrie Rubin – The salty and funny introvert who is the author of fantastic thrillers.
SD Gates – The nurturing nurse who has lived many places and writes about things paranormal.
Lorna’s Voice – The hilarious humorist and memoirist who writes great flash fiction.
EllaDee – The super kind and thoughtful Aussie who teaches me about her home country.
Wordfromanneli – The author of thrilling romances and fantastic photos of breathtaking scenery.
Jill Weatherholt – The uplifting positive thinker. Keep on the lookout for her first published book by Harlequin coming soon.

Merry Christmas

I may not have time to respond to comments or visit blogs much this week, but feel free to say something here if you wish.

See you on the flip side.

15 thoughts on “Like me if you mean it on this Anniversary”

  1. Hi Lori

    It’s true, the ‘Like’ button can be an easy option. I, like most people wouldn’t like anything I haven’t read. I find your posts interesting, and it’s always nice hearing about other peoples lives, and how they respond to life in general.
    I must admit I haven’t been blogging long, and the more blogs I engage with gives me the confidence to build on mine. I’ve not found the time to read a lot lately (but that’s another story) but I’m happy to be back.

    Keep inspiring 🙂

    Chris x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome back, Chris. I was shocked at how much I enjoyed blogging once I started. Thanks for reading. Blessings to you in the new year.

      Like

  2. This post is so sweet. Creating community is the reason why I started my own blog and I see that you were able to create that with your blog here.
    I understand that it must be discouraging to see your numbers go down, but if you have made good friends through this blog, it is all worth it. best!

    Like

  3. I agree with you Lori, I spend minimum of 3 hours on any day I’m reading or writing blogs. Sometimes, I don’t leave a comment but I believe reading a complete article is better than just clicking the like button.

    I don’t care much for the end of years stats because it could be disheartening, rather, I dwell on the knowledge I’ve gained from all the posts I’ve read from my friends all over the world.

    It would be nice to see you in person one day, maybe not too long, I could pop into the States anytime soon. 🙂

    I hope you a had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you the best in life in 2016.
    Much love to you my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the shout-out, Lori! Congrats on the 4 years of dedicated blogging. My how time flies! My anniversary is in April or May. 5 or 6 years for me. I’m ancient!

    As for likes and stats, I don’t bother much with them. It’s all part of my effort to de-OCD-ify myself. So far, the results are not impressive!

    Hope you get some rest and some wonderment over the holidays. A person needs a lot of both! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was never a fan of the *Like* button on WordPress either. I so often forget to use it! Sometimes I’ll click the button if I’ve enjoyed a post, but don’t have time or the eloquence to comment. But I’d prefer to comment. And if I do, you can assume that I like what you’ve written! 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Lori!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m like you–I could never click ‘like’ without reading a post. As you point out, it could be something I don’t agree with at all. Besides, I enjoy seeing what people have to say. 🙂

    Thank you so much for the mention! Very nice of you. I always enjoy stopping by here, Lori. Much of what you blog about is relatable to us all.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I used to do that (click Like) when someone asked me to like their page. I thought it would be rude not to. But now that I’m more comfortable in the blogging world I am not so quick to “Like” things I haven’t read. It doesn’t mean anything if you just click the button for no good reason.
    And thank you, Lori for your inspirational posts and for recommending me as one of the bloggers worth following. I appreciate that. All the best of the season to you and all your followers.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Lori, that was kind to mention your top commenters, Yes I noticed the same thing with my blog and I do wonder if people read the content. Which is why it is mostly poems now. I also think people have an inbuilt stop watch when it comes to reading other peoples posts.

    Happy Christmas to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m with you, Lori. It’s hard to believe people scroll through the WP reader and “like” posts without reading. Who knows what the content is.
    Congratulations on tomorrow’s four year anniversary! That’s quite an accomplishment.
    Thank you so much for the sweet mention. I’m happy to have met you and look forward to reading more of your posts in 2016.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.