blogging, life

Lost in a Blog Fog

palm fog wmThose of you who regularly visit my blog may have noticed a shuffle of different themes. I’ve been yearning for change and have been experimenting. Who knows, I may even go back to the original.

I just crossed my three year blog anniversary over Christmas. When I first started, I was shocked at how much I enjoyed it and became addicted! Over time, many of my wonderful blogging friends took breaks from the blog world (some left altogether). Even though I missed them, I blogged all the more. I rarely can pull myself away from typing out blog drafts and visiting other blogs. I mean, what if I miss something awesome?

The only time I was able to stop posting and reading blogs was when my husband had his accident. And, that was only for about four weeks. I came back to Lori’s Lane once we had him stable at home.

I’m sure you all have much busier lives than mine. However, I’ve been known to get lost in a blog fog when I should be doing other things … like writing.

As a result, I have made a blogging resolution for the new year. We shall see if I can stay on track. I’m not going to take a break because I wouldn’t be successful at staying away. I am going to try something different though. I’ll be limiting myself a little more. I’ve recently cut back from posting twice a week to once a week. Sometimes I may add one in between if something comes up I’d like to share. I will only visit the blogs of those who visit here. I know that sometimes we don’t always have something to say and we just click ‘like.’ But, we can always tell the difference between those who just leave a drive by ‘like’ and those who actually click to visit our blog. Those will be the ones I will be visiting in return.

I’m also going to try twitter and facebook a little more. I really don’t like the other forms of social media, but I’ll need to spread my wings when my novel is published anyway (in 2015 I plan on success).

Ever since the first day of this year, I’ve been getting more clicks. I think they must be from a main-switchboard computer or something. The clicks are always on the same several posts from July of 2014. Anyone else have something similar happen? Do you have any thoughts on this particular phenomenon?

I’m humbled and grateful for those of you who take the time out of your busy lives to visit me here. It means so very much to me and I thank you. Blessings to you in this new year.

30 thoughts on “Lost in a Blog Fog”

  1. Lori, I appreciate your situation. I’ve had to cut back on both writing and reading blogs. I just can’t find the time like I used to. Some bloggers post several times a day and I just have to delete most of their posts. I hate to do that, but I just can’t read them all. quality is much better than quantity in my opinion!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lorna. You probably already know, but if you receive notifications in the email, you can change how often you receive notifications from those you follow. A while back, I changed the ones that post several times a day to receiving only one of their posts a day in my notifications. But, as I said, now I only have time to visit the ones who visit me. Thanks for sharing what you’ve been experiencing. Blessings to you in this new year.

      Like

      1. Yes, I already knew about this. I have to now consider the number of blogs I even get notified about. There are just too many. When Trying to market a book, you have to have a large following, but I can only do so much….

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to be unable to stay away from blogs and blogging too. I would post to my own blog four or five times a week. Now as my kids have grown up and become adults, I keep thinking I should have more time for writing, but the complete opposite is true. Actually, it’s a combination of lack of time and mental exhaustion. Sometimes I come home from work and try to think about something to talk about other than work … and there’s just nothing. I’m surprised how often I’ve only written one blog post per week lately and how infrequently I manage to respond to comments left on one of my posts. My goal is the opposite of yours. Blog MORE!

    However, I know it’s different for you because you also write to create books. So I can see where you’d need to put some limits in place as far as your non-book writing goes. I wish you much success in your resolution, Lori!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Terri. I always enjoy reading your blogs. You get to the heart and soul of things. I see you’re trying to find a way to appreciate each day with those lovely winter photos you took. As I always say, there are ONLY three things I like about Florida, January, February and March. πŸ™‚ Stay warm and cozy.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your three year anniversary Lori. It’s so easy to get into the habit of the blog becoming the main writing you do – last year I cut back to posting fortnightly and got lots of other writing done. This year, I have a ‘flexible’ plan – posting either weekly or fortnightly depending on the other writing I have in progress. Good luck with your plans for this year – hope your creativity blossoms πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Andrea. I must confess, I actually enjoy the blog writing more than my creative writing (novel & short stories). Blog writing rolls off the top of my head, and I don’t have to hone it like I do my creative writing. I guess I can chalk it up to being lazy, cause it’s easier for me. Plus I enjoy the interaction with other bloggers. Oh well. Back to the writing mines I go. Thanks so much for the wonderful wishes. Blessings to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad you posted this. I have gotten lost in reading, tweeting, liking and not writing as much. I hate to admit that I do not like to read a blog a day so I am going to cut back to once a week, probably on Sunday; read on Saturday. Go back to FB. I have had a love/hate relationship with this medium.
    This has been an inspiration. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah, yes, finding the right schedule and balance between blogging and everything else we need and want to do in life. πŸ™‚ Some people juggle them easily. I’m not one of them. πŸ˜‰ As Carrie said, we all need to find the right schedule that works for usβ€”there’s no “one size fits all” here!

    For me, it’s time to step away from posting and spend time with the novels. But I’ll definitely keep visiting you and others. πŸ™‚ Best wishes for all your writing in 2015, and may the year also bring you all the time you need!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi JM. I’m not juggling the blogging and life very well. As I said, I tend to put my blog first, so we’ll see how it goes now. Thank you so much for your good wishes. Good luck to you with your major endeavor of building a home and the novel writing.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Blogging is really fun, but the writing has to come first.I think that’s a great goal for blogging. I do my best to get to all the blogs that visit mine and support them too. I’ve built some amazing friendships in the blog world. I’m a fan of Facebook. It’s fun and easy to use. Probably my second favorite social media after the blog. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Laura. I’ve been in this blog fog for three years. LOL. I’ve cut back on the amount of posts, but I find myself typing out drafts anyway. Also, visiting others. I think if you can’t find the words, it’s good to take a break. Why force something? Enjoy your return.

      Like

  7. I get caught up in blog-writing over novel-writing, too. To make it worse, most of my drafts never make it to the approved-for-the-blog stage! I wish you novel-writing success in Sweet 2015, Lori!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whew. Thanks for sharing this, Rilla. Since so many others have taken breaks, I thought I was the only one caught up in this craze. Heh, I have several drafts that are sitting in cue, and I don’t know if they’ll ever see the publish button. Thank you for the good wishes. May you be blessed with success as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree with Carrie, we have to do what works best with our schedule. I’ve been posting once a week for probably sixteen months or more, it works better with my schedule than daily posts. To be honest, I’ve stopped following some blogs who post every day. I just can’t keep up and then I feel guilty for not reading/responding to every post. Blogging…it’s addicting, but can be stressful at times too. Good luck for your new schedule, Lori!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jill. I tried blogging every day in the first two weeks as a new blogger. I realized that wasn’t going to work, real quick. I did three posts a week for about a year, then that got to be too much. I did two posts a week this past year, but I need to do once a week now. I do enjoy it, but I need to balance things out. I also enjoy reading those people I’ve gotten to know, like you. Always good to hear from you, Jill.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I love blogging but find that it is important to find a healthy balance so you don’t get burned out. I’m doing weekly posts and daily tweeting/FB while reading other’s posts through the week. That routine has been working for me for the past year or so.

    I’m glad you will be continuing to blog. I enjoy your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Joy. It’s tough to keep up with others posts too, but those of you I’ve gotten to know I will not give up. πŸ™‚ Thank you, Joy. It’s always good to hear from you.

      Like

  10. To blog or not to blog. To work on our novel or not to work on our novel. To tweet or not to tweet. These are the questions we must ask ourselves every day. Finding that balance is always difficult, but I’ve found it’s easier now that I only post 2-4 times a month. Maybe that’s not what the blog gurus say I should do, but it works for me. Good luck with your own reforms. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I wish you a fantastic year Lori. Blogging is addictive and though I didn’t blog a often as I would have wanted last year, I still blogged. Stick with it and enjoy yourself!
    Have a great week!
    Blessings.:)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.