life, thoughts, weather

Weather Words Impromptu

Cold? Really? You’ve got to be kidding me.

tampa heat 1 (800x533)

No, I’m not talking about the winter weather approaching most of the country. I’m talking about the weathermen in Florida.

If you’ve lived half your life in a city, say…oh…like Chicago, and have experienced their winters, you understand cold. So, when the weathermen in Florida call a weather-front a cold front, well, at first it’s funny, after a while, it’s just irritating.

My body chemistry naturally runs hot, so 90 degrees at the end of October gets daunting for me. When the weathermen forecast a cold front, I envision fall-like temperatures in the 50’s, maybe 60. I could really cool down, wrap myself in a blanket and have a cup of hot cocoa. But no, they label a cold front as 77 degrees! Okay, 77 is pleasant and better than 90, but please, don’t call it a cold front. I say it’s time they come up with a new label. How bout just a weather-front or a relief-front? Anything that doesn’t include the words, cold, chilly, or even cool.

pass grl hrcn (533x800)You see, as long as you northern folks stay at tolerable temperatures, it remains warm to steamy here in the tropics. If you get cold, I may just get lucky enough for that stuff to reach central Florida and bring me some long awaited comfortable relief.

As of now, our temps are close to 90 and suffocatingly humid (since May). Two more days of this stuff and it should be nice to live in Florida for a couple of days. And, I do mean just a couple of days, because it’s forecast to get hot again soon after.

I look forward to those couple of days and take gratitude (Thursday & Friday) with what I can get.


Happy fall from Florida.

19 thoughts on “Weather Words Impromptu”

  1. It’s all relative, I think. For those who have lived in Florida their whole lives, I suppose the seventies is “cold.” For those of us from the northern part of the country, “cold” is thirties and lower. I hope you see some relief soon. We’re already hearing talk of snow flurries and it’s much too soon for my liking.

    Like

    1. Hi Terri. You should see how people break out the coats when it hits the 60’s. Heh. When it’s 62 degrees and I see someone in shorts, I know they’re northerners. 🙂

      Like

  2. On one hand, it must be rough having a job (weather forecaster) where people always get on you as if bad weather is your fault. But on the other, it must be nice to have a job where you can be wrong so often and not get fired! 😉

    We have truly cooled down with this cold front. I’m looking at 54 right now in Maryland. But it doesn’t look like you get to share in the relief. 90 in October would be more than I can bear!

    Like

    1. Hey JM. It’s not that the weathermen are wrong. It’s just crazy that in Florida they call 77 degrees a “cold front.” I wish they’d call the “front” something different. They keep telling me that 70’s temps are coming…today…but I’m still waiting. Enjoy that crisp air for both of us.

      Like

  3. The weather does what it’s always done. I would hate the job of the weatherman, there’s only so much science can answer. I estimate for about 9 months of the year we all drive ourselves crazy wishing it was something other than what we’ve got. My 3 months, all going well is Autumn, which I love. I’ve always lived in the same weather zone, although it was less humid inland in the country when I was a kid than it is here on the coast, so I don’t yearn for a particular type of locational climate. In Sydney’s surrounding areas it is only October and bushfire season has the jump on us… it’s going to be a long summer.

    Like

    1. I understand long summers. I know there is no perfect weather spot to live. My body chemistry just runs naturally hot, and it’s tougher in this hot climate. I just find it funny how weathermen call 77 degrees a cold-front. Stay cool this summer, EllaDee.

      Like

  4. Heather … sunny post and lovely carefree photos, but I couldn’t live where I don’t have the 4 seasons .. I couldn’t even move to Spain! I really feel for you … with that heat most of the year, I suppose you learn to live with it .. or ????? Anything for cold Chicago winter ????? Would mind coming visit for a couple of weeks and stay in that sky-blue house on the corner, very pretty.

    Like

    1. Hi Viveka, by this time of year with so much heat, it starts to get to me. I guess I really haven’t learn to live with it very well. I just tolerate it and complain on my blog. Ha! The house in the photo is actually a restaurant near the beach. But, you are welcome to come stay with me some time if you get too cold in the winter in your beloved home Sweden. 🙂

      Like

      1. Lori, I would love to come and visit *smile
        Where do I fly into ??? Near the beach sound great to me.
        I can understand that your body want the chill and crisp air at times. Had problems last year in Chicago when it was so hot – couldn’t do for a living, but I know Chicago have tough winters.
        My thoughts are with you!

        Like

  5. North Alabama is at 60 degrees during the day and about 36 at night….delightful weather…so sorry you do not have seasons, however you do have things we do not have…I cannot for the life of me think what it is 🙂

    Like

    1. Sounds like lovely weather, Linda. I guess no place has perfect weather. Sometimes I think I should be called Goldie Locks, because I like the weather just right. 😉

      Like

    1. We (you & I) live in opposite parts of the world, weather-wise. From sunshine to no sun at all (frequently anyway). Sometimes the beating sun gets to be overbearing. It wouldn’t be so bad if it just cooled down, and hopefully it will soon. No place is perfect though. Hope you get some sunny days.

      Like

Comments are closed.