life, music

Rockin’ in Paradise

I originally scheduled a blog post about my evening walk today, but I did something so super fun this weekend that I needed to express it to the world (wide web).

(Please come back next Monday and join me on my evening walk)

Those of you who have read me before, know that I’m a rocker chick. A rocker chick without any tattoos (which I also blogged about), and who doesn’t go after the rock boys (well, at least not for 28 years).

Rock music has got me in a strangle hold, baby, and I’m going to keep on lovin’ it because this weekend I was rockin’ in paradise. In case you didn’t recognize that sentence, there are three different song titles in it from three different bands.

Yeah, baby. Ted Nugent, SYTX and REO Speedwagon. The latter two I’ve been fans of since I was fifteen years old and are my favorite bands of all time. My husband is a Nugent fan, but I like most rock music.

We’ve known they were coming to town for months now, but I didn’t think I’d be able to go. You see, I have a very low tolerance for heat, and an outdoor stadium in Florida in May means heat stroke for me.

On Thursday, I heard the humidity was going to break over the weekend, bringing the temps to a more tolerable level. So, I bought tickets two days before the concert. It included a festival with rides and games. We were able to go in and out of the festival and stadium at will, and guess what … beautiful weather. Wow! We truly were rockin’ in paradise. Well, except for about thirty minutes when the sun was setting beyond the pavilion roof and shined right in our eyes. But, we were there for about seven hours, so thirty minutes of intolerable was tolerable.

I’ve never found the community in which I live to be very friendly, but go to a rock concert and everyone is your friend. If you know the band’s music, you can join in the sing along with everyone too (I know every word and every guitar lick to these bands). The crowd is all my age and older, which shocked me at the last concert I went to in February. I wrote about it in a blog post titled Rebellious No More.

I could go on with how I behaved like a giddy teenager and danced the night away. I could share about how we had pretty good seats for last minute tickets. I could share how a friendly woman who talked to me thought I was fifteen years younger. I could, I could, I could … but, I’ll share a few pics. Thanks for coming along with me.

View of the stage and festival from the lawn.
View of the stage and festival from the lawn.
Looking back toward the lawn from our seats.
Looking back toward the lawn from our seats.

Crazy Ted Nugent

The caption for the above photo won’t show up, but that is the crazy Ted Nugent.

styx 3 wm
STYX sounded as good as 30 years ago.

The man below was my teenage idol. He is the lead singer of REO Speedwagon, Kevin Cronin. I’ve been considering writing a short story about the time I met him thirty years ago. He looked much different then … think big-hair eighties and no wrinkles or bleach. What do you think, should I write it in a story and post it to my blog?

Kevin wm

Time For Me To Fly
Time For Me To Fly

Since you came along with me, here’s a sample of STYX music. Sorry I couldn’t get the video to imbed here on this page.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzqeuH0AVKk

20 thoughts on “Rockin’ in Paradise”

  1. I had that blue vinyl album! Not that any vinyl held up to long-term use, but that seemed to get scratchy even more quickly than normal. Illinois was home to a few major acts back in the day. 😉

    Like

  2. This music is my era as well 🙂 I particularly liked Styx, and had a laser etched vinyl album that I still mourn. Music takes you straight to time and place. Now you have multiple time & place to be transported to – way back when, and a huge concert festival where the weather gods were kind to you.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing in it with me, EllaDee. I still have my vinyl albums in a closet, and I have that laser etched one of STYX somewhere in there. I have a blue vinyl album of STYX too. You’re right about being transported. While watching REO I had a flashback of when they were in town (where I grew up in Chicago). They played a baseball game with a local radio station. When it was over, my girlfriends and I followed their limo. HA! It turned out it wasn’t the band but their road crew. When we figured it out and turned around, they followed us! Heh. We talked to them for a few minutes but then they went on their own way. Oh, boy, I sure can go on about this stuff. Thanks again.

      Like

  3. Oh, WOW! That sounds like SO much fun! I’m glad the weather cooperated and allowed you to enjoy the concert as much as you did.

    And YES! You should definitely write about Kevin Cronin. I was a big REO fan back in the day!

    Like

    1. You know, it would’ve been fun to go with a bunch of girlfriends. Not that I didn’t have fun with my husband (whom I never see dance, this time he danced all night), but sometimes it’s fun to hang with the girls. Too bad my blogging sisters couldn’t be there with me.

      Like

  4. You’re some rock chick …. I know you have told me before. Looks and reads like a fantastic party with some heavy music. Rock isn’t really my thing, but there is a couple of tracks I love listen too. Metallica is one group I like in some portion size and Meatloaf has a fantastic voice. I don’t know if Queen goes under rock … but I love them.
    Thanks for a fun post and for sharing a great evening. The weather looks perfect.

    Like

    1. Hey Viveka, oh yes, I would consider Queen rock music. They are kind of like a rock opera. Thanks for reading about my fun night. I was in heaven.

      Like

  5. I am so smiling with you, Rocker Friend! Looks like you had a blast. Grinning that we both wrote about music, although yours is much more current.

    Like

    1. Hey Kathy, yes, I thought when I read your blog post how ironic it was for both of us to write about music at the same time. Mine was a little more current than yours, but not much. Just ask anyone under the age of 35. Heh. I really DID have a blast. Wish it didn’t have to end. Thanks for checking out my party time. 🙂

      Like

    1. Mr. Roboto, heh. That was comical. I think that’s when the rest of the band parted ways with Dennis DeYoung, who is a phenomenal talent, but Mr. Roboto, really? I may be a rocker, but my rocker friends have called me the goody-goody. No shirts coming off here. Besides, when you’re my age, um, ahem, I wouldn’t want to scare people.

      Like

            1. I don’t mind you sharing your blog link here at all, and boy that was hilarious! Although, my eyes aren’t so pleased. That poor kid being exposed to that. Ugh! Hate to say this, but I think this is what a few of those rockers I saw on Saturday night may look like beneath it all. I prefer to extinguish that image. Thanks for sharing the link.

              Like

Comments are closed.