life, nature, thoughts

Look, Up in the Sky

(for use of photo, please attribute to Lori and this website)

It’s a bird, it’s a plane, no … it’s Super Dragonfly!

No wait, it’s a hover craft and it’s scanning out my yard. Check out the craft’s copper body and golden wings (below).

(for use of photo, please attribute to Lori and this website)

Think it’ll let me hitch a ride and take me up for an overhead view?

Wait a second … is that Tinkerbell?

The dragonflies I remember growing up with in the Midwest were little, blue slivers. These guys in Florida are the size of small airplanes. They hover in swarms around the yards, but they don’t land. Try snapping a photo while they flutter and dodge.

I thought about titling this blog “The Creatures that Live in my Back Yard,” but then realized I’m too fainthearted to capture close-ups of the myriad of different creepy crawlies. Instead, I took a shot of my favorite little creatures that eat those creepy crawlies for me.

(for use of photo, please attribute to Lori and this website)

I asked him to pose for the photo and he obliged willingly. For some reason he seemed very comfortable with a camera, and he looked familiar. I thought I heard him mumble something about buying insurance. He and his friends like to keep me company in my back porch, licking it clean of those little buggers that scare me.

Once in a while a rascal like this one below might find a way inside.

photo by Greg Schecter wiki commons

It has a ring around its neck, thus why they are called ring necked snakes. During the summer of 2010 these sneaky little fellas kept finding their way into my house. They are harmless, but after the third one, I moved into a hotel. I might’ve stayed there forever had we not discovered their peephole of an entrance. Whew!

(for use of photo, please attribute to Lori and this website)

I’d prefer not to end this post with the photo above, so I’ll use a more eye appealing one. Look closely and see if you can find the little creepy crawly on these. Click on the image and you’ll see it for sure.

11 thoughts on “Look, Up in the Sky”

  1. Wow, that is an impressive dragon fly! I know the little blue ones you mentioned, but haven’t seen any lately – only the red ones I wrote about not long ago.

    I couldn’t stay in a house where snakes were getting in either. Glad you solved that problem!

    Like

    1. Hey Terri ~ These dragonflies are massive and they hover in swarms. It’s so different from our midwestern flies, and from midwest bugs in general. Thanks for checking it out and commenting.

      Like

  2. Well, I had no idea that Florida dragonflies were so much like helicopters, **grin**. I always enjoy those geckos when we go south, but the snakes, not so much. Am still barely recovered from our snake in the basement in early summer.

    Like

  3. I finally, later in life, have lost my heart stopping fear of snakes, and find them fascinating, at a reasonable distance depending on the type of snake, but I have to say, I’d have gone to a hotel after finding the first snake inside… Years ago, I was hanging out the washing in the backyard and a big brown slithered between me and the back door, and that’s all it took for me to pack up the cats and relocate the in-laws for the weekend.

    Like

    1. Heh, and it would have to be a pretty scary snake for me to pack up for the in-laws. Thanks for sharing your experiences, EllaDee. From a reasonable distance is okay for me too. 😉

      Like

  4. I don’t like snakes .. but I don’t want to harm them neither – I nearly faint when I see one. Had an unreleased experience with snakes on a school trip – haven’t come over it yet. That dragon fly is something – big as a Hercules aircraft. Beautiful – a pity you couldn’t get a better close up.

    Like

Comments are closed.