life, thoughts, weather

Griping with Gratitude

Do you like my oxymoron title? I consider myself an oxymoron on a regular basis.

On to the topic at hand … do I like living Florida, or don’t I? Let me think out loud … or should I say … think onto this blog?

Remember when I was complaining about not getting rain? I know, I know, be careful what you wish for. The east side of Tropical Storm Debby has been lambasting the gulf coast for several days. She won’t move, and has parked her sorry ass over the water, dredging up more and more moisture.

I’m actually enjoying the rain, except that after a while, it gets a little scary. It hasn’t stopped raining since Friday, and there is no end in sight. This is supposed to last at least until Wednesday, but could be here through Friday! Soon, there will be no where left for the rain to go. It’s already flooding in some areas, but we’ve been lucky at our location, so far. Some of the squalls that come through are bringing tornadoes. I was awake for a couple of hours in the middle of the night, concerned a cyclone might spawn.

I’m wondering now if I should’ve been building an ark during those dry months.

Besides it being a little scary, I’m enjoying the break from the relentless heat of the sun. Letting the dog out can be a challenge though. He doesn’t mind  … it’s us that have to deal with getting wet, and then getting his fur dried out every time he comes in. An umbrella doesn’t work so well for him because dogs are horizontal. Plus, it’s kind of hard to hang onto an umbrella in tropical storm winds.

Don’t adjust your computers for the following photos. This is the actual light in our house at noon on Sunday (and still today). If you click on them it shows a more accurate idea of the light during the middle of the day under a tropical storm.

It looks sunny in the windows back there, but don’t be fooled, it’s just the camera pulling in light to try and adjust.
A little bit lighter here because of the three windows. It looks like dusk but it’s really noon.

I tend to gripe about living in Florida. The weather is beautiful in the winters, but they have little to no rain. In summer comes the rainy season, and it remains in the 90’s for 4 to 6 months. I’m not one of these women who is always cold and needs a sweater. In fact, I’m quite the opposite, so hot climates don’t work well for me. Not to mention the threat of hurricanes. Hurricane season is synonymous with the rainy season here.

The picture below is pretty much how our windows look from May through September, even without rain. The humidity is suffocating.

For use of photo, please attribute to Lori and this blog.

I’m grateful TS Debbie is not a stronger storm, but there has been some tornado damage. Keep a good thought that we don’t get anymore tornadoes.

In the meantime, as long as work/job here is good (and it is), this is where we will stay until retirement. I  sound contradictory, but I like to be grateful in the midst of my griping. 🙂

Thank you, God, for this rain, and for the cozy shelter of our home.

17 thoughts on “Griping with Gratitude”

    1. Kathy, we’re drying out now. The rain has been gone since Wednesday and I’m ready for some more. As long as it doesn’t come in the form of a hurricane. 😛 Always good to hear from you.

      Like

  1. Hi Lori, I hope the weather has improved in your area. Was going through your post yesterday and I sent a response. However, I don’t know why my comments are not getting posted. Have written to wordpress support. I wanted to inform you that I have nominated your blog for the One Lovely Blog Award at my site. You could have a look. 🙂 Best Wishes!

    Like

  2. Hahaha…I remember the humidity while vacationing in Florida. We stayed at a motel on the beach. It was quite disconcerting to put on severely damp cloths every morning. Will keep a good thought for the rain to stop (hey that rhymes).

    Like

  3. I was laughing through a lot of this really, it’s told with such wonderful off handedness and humor “parked her sorry ass over the water” like music to my ears haha I don’t envy you at all although where I live we have our share of heat and humidity and rain (it is SORT of the south here in Virginia) but not what you have to deal with. Those pictures are really telling, not only the lack of light but your windows cause of the humidity (YUCK). I hope y’all get through. And it’s a relatively dry part of the country where I am and somewhat less humid, maybe it’s time you started thinking about packing your bags? 🙂

    Like

    1. I’d love to pack my bags, Pete. Husband has a good job here though. When one is happy in what they do, you gotta let them enjoy. I’d love to live in the mountains like you do though. Maybe some day when I’m old and gray. Thanks so much for reading this in the spirit in which it was meant. Trying to let “me” come through in my words without giving away too much. 😉

      Like

  4. I think we all prefer normal weather, not extremes. I always had the idea that people go to Florida for retirement. You’re staying there until…

    Like

  5. So happy for that you got some rain and I hope plenty of it .. because the nature needs it too. Hope the tropical storm doesn’t come your way or at least it has slowed down a bit. Was in New Orleans under the tropical storm cat 3 “Isidore”in 2002, I found the whole thing amazing and how the air changed 10-12hrs before it came over us … the wind and the calmness … but I couldn’t live with going through that year after year, like you do. Photo your photo from the living room with light from the 2 windows .. very dramatic.

    Like

    1. We went from not rain, to way too much rain. Breaking records of rainfall here. Thanks for sharing your New Orleans experience. Glad you made it out of there okay.

      Like

  6. That’s the kind of light I get in my NYC apartment on a sunny day…you can imagine what it’s like when it rains! Grateful in the midst of griping is good – it’s the grateful that counts!

    Like

    1. Oh my, you’re in NYC Margarita?! Sounds like you need one of those lamps that give off sunlight rays. 🙂 You know this is the Sunshine State, so this kind of darkness means definitely there is a storm. Thanks for reading.

      Like

Comments are closed.