blogging, thoughts

Maybe it’s just me

Has anyone else noticed a new format for the main WordPress site? It’s after you go to the topics page and click on a topic. The topic you click on comes up in a different format than before. If yours is changed, do you like it?

It may just be me, but I’ve noticed that since the change my blog hits are down. I also recognized that I haven’t been looking for topics like I used to, because it’s not as user friendly as the old one. Has anyone else noticed a drop in hits? Does anyone else find it less user friendly?

I find WordPress a bit complicated to create a blog for someone who is only slightly computer friendly like me. However, it’s become home now, and I’ve grown to like it. Just as I learned how to use it, they change things. The new format for topics is slow and tedious, so I just don’t check it out anymore. I wonder … am I the only one?

22 thoughts on “Maybe it’s just me”

  1. Yeah, thanks for this post. I dislike the revamp so I actually wondered how others felt … and then I stumbled onto your post. Sometimes change isn’t always for the better though the intention was probably good…ha..ha.. Reminds me a lot about LIFE itself. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been on WordPress for several years, and quite honestly, I don’t even know what the topics page is! The bigger issue I’ve had lately is that when commenting on a WP blog, you are automatically subscribed to comments via email unless you uncheck the box below the comment form.

    Like

    1. Yes, I’ve noticed the comment thing too. In trying to promote my blog, I’ve spend tons of time on the topics page. I’ve had really good traffic in doing so, but since they changed it, I haven’t gone on much. So much for traffic. 😛 Thanks for sharing your experience.

      Like

  3. Lori –
    To be honest, I’m not much of a surfer anymore. I have a hard time just keeping up with the blogs that I’m following. I realize that means that I’m missing out on MUCH interesting and challenging writing.
    I had a hard time with the last change, where the box to received all comments anyone made on any post I commented on, filled my gmail.
    I think, maybe, I’ve almost remedied that one.
    Hope your traffic picks up – you deserve it! 😀
    Debbie

    Like

    1. Thank you for such a nice comment, Debbie. I’ve only been at this blogging thing for just about 5 months, and I surfed a lot. Unfortunately, not anymore. I don’t have time for the tedious new scroller. Sigh. Blessings to you, Debbie.

      Like

  4. Changes here too and has been a lot of posting on this all over. Right now I am getting two emails each for likes and comments. Had a problem reviewing posts before publish too. My main gripe in 20 months on wp is that I cannot have lower case for first letter of words in my post title. It automatically makes all word first letters caps. nrhatch blog had extensive comments on this.

    Like

  5. No, I haven’t noticed …. but I never click on topic’s – have to go and check … find my spams the other day. *smile – just do what you use to do … or play around – so long as you don’t save anything – you will have your old setup left.

    Like

  6. Yes, I find WordPress a bit complicated for newbies, too. I also liked to be here but had some trouble with WordPress over these last few weeks… long story.

    I wonder if they ever heard of: If it ain’t broke it ain’t need fixing?

    Well, it’s like with some of these supermarkets: just as you get to know where the items are, they rearrange them. 😉 What for?

    Blessings,
    Mirjam

    Like

  7. I noticed the change in topics. I use to like to wander through and meet fellow travelers. Now it is just one long string. Seems as though I have few new folks stopping by.

    Like

Comments are closed.